Thoughtful Thursday: Oh, the Places You’ll Go!

With school officially back in session this week I thought it would be fitting for all of you college-bound people out there, or even high-school-bound, to do a bit of reflection. 
(source)
I’m officially a junior in college, and the past two years of my life have been a whirlwind of choices. Choices on who I hang out with, what classes I take, which clubs I join (and actively participate in), and just where I go in general. 
Two years ago if you’d asked me what I wanted to do with my life, I would have said write. A semester later I would have said animate Pixar or Dreamworks movies. So I switched schools (yes, I totally transferred) at the start of sophomore year. I spent a semester in the city learning art and don’t regret it. Because I learned a lot about technique. But that December I transferred again, returning to my “home” school.
I spent the spring trying to put my life back together and wondering what it even meant to have your life “together”. I’m still wondering actually. 
I keep looking around my room as I write this. Some of my posters are three years old now, and they’re losing a bit of their luster, and overall appeal in general thanks to accidental tears during take-down and just interest changes in general. It’s funny though, because I still put my 3-year-old art up on the wall (the stuff I did Freshman year, that is. Not from when I was 3). And some of it’s design work (because I’m a graphic design and advertising major), and some of it was done for my Pixar Portfolio entry, and some of them were given to me.
But seeing all these things I see pieces of my former self. Layers I’ve shed as the years have gone on.
We had our opening convocation speech yesterday with speaker, Jeremy Hunter, a pro at business management and living. Also a former Wittenberg alumus. And he said something to the mass of freshman filling the hall: “To those of you who are still wearing your high school class ring and letterman’s jacket, you won’t be for long. Because that not who you are anymore. Trust me come Thanks Giving, those will be gone.” (Or something along those lines as I don’t have the speech verbatim.)
He also talked about focusing on what makes you curious, what you want to explore, and forgetting about everything else. And it was really empowering to hear someone say do what you’re drawn to, not what will make you money. Because as an English and Art double major and Creative Writing minor, the question I always get from people is “How are you going to support yourself after graduation?”
And I honestly don’t have an answer. But if I’m doing what I love, should living the life of luxury really be all that important? I don’t think so.
So I’ve learned to only trust your instincts, go the directions you’re pulled–even if they don’t work out sometimes like art school did for me. Because those things define us, they build us, and they make a huge statement about who we are now and who we might be later.

Tweetables:

Do what draws you in. @hannahhuntwrite on #ThoughtfulThursday talks art, literature, and the pursuit of happiness.

Material doesn’t make you happy. Passion does. Find your calling and everything else will fall into place. @hannahhuntwrite

Leave a comment