GUTGAA: Meet and Greet Response:

My answers for the meet and greet this week! Yay blog hopping!

Hi guys. So, I’m Hannah. I’m a freshman in college who writes YA Paranormal and Dystopian stories while working on an English and Art double major at the moment. I’ve shown horses competitively since I was nine, and tend to be a bit of a loner. But yeah, still adjusting to life on campus as well as trying to figure out what I’m doing in the writing world with four finished books and a new manuscript to shop around.

Where do you write?
My favorite place to write is in bed. Really. It’s comfy, and familiar. I also like my desk when I’m working on really tricky situations, or fleshing out character or more of the business-like side of writing. But when it comes to free writing or actually fleshing out a chapter, I prop up my pillows, sit back, and go.

Quick. Go to your writing space, sit down and look to your left. What is the first thing you see?My desk lamp and a picture of my horse. (Space is kind of limited while living in a dorm.)

Favorite time to write?
All day. It really depends. If I’m working on paranormal works, then it has to be at night for the most part. Adventures or action scenes I need daylight. But I’m usually an evening writer.

Drink of choice while writing?Water. Or Starbuck’s bitter hot chocolate with extra whipped cream and chocolate sauce on top. 

When writing , do you listen to music or do you need complete silence?
Music. Almost always there’s music playing. However, when I edit I usually don’t listen to music. And if I do, it’s one song on repeat for the entire time I’m editing a project, which could be anywhere from a few days to months of the same song.

What was your inspiration for your latest manuscript and where did you find it?
It was abnormally warm, and I pondered the details of being a pickpocket. 

What’s your most valuable writing tip?
Write. All the time. It doesn’t matter if it’s good or if it makes sense. Just write. As much as possible. All the time. FOREVER.

Seriously though. You only get better if you practice. I write at least five times a week with school. Over the summer, I wrote every day. And then some. I’ll sit for hours and just bang out words. I don’t even care if it fits perfectly with the plot line. I just go where the story takes me, loosely so.

8 thoughts on “GUTGAA: Meet and Greet Response:

  1. Nice to find other writers who like to write in bed! What breed is your horse? I've always been partial to the Appaloosa, and one of my horse characters is a Russian Kabardin, a breed I've really grown to love.

    Like

  2. I've got a chestnut Appendix Quarter Horse. She's three-quarters Thoroughbred though and definitely looks it. One of my favorite breeds to ride, I love the Appies though, Palominos too.

    Like

  3. Very cool that you're so motivated with writing while in school. I really commend you on that, especially living in a dorm where space is so limited. Good luck with GUTGAA!

    Like

  4. Hello! *waves* So nice to meet you! 🙂

    This right here: Music. Almost always there's music playing. However, when I edit I usually don't listen to music.

    IS so me! I'm going through my edits right now and I find I can't listen to music. Which kinda makes me sad. But, we gotta do what we gotta do.

    Like

  5. I know it's late to be saying hi through GUTGAA, but there is a list a mile long signed up. I'm determined to stop by every blog, even if it takes the whole month to finish!
    Best wishes this month. with an impressive list of finished manuscripts, it sounds like you have come to right place to get your work noticed!
    Talynn #28

    Like

Leave a comment